Minutes of the Pre-Convention DEC Meeting April 20, 2022 7:30 p.m. – Spenard Post 28

The meeting was called to order by President Jane Larson at 7:32 p.m.

MOTION: By Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) and seconded by Diana Estrada (Unit 35) to dispense with opening ceremonies except for the prayer and Pledge of Allegiance.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

ROLL CALL

Present

National Officers National Executive Committee Member Penny Mazonna

Department Officers

President Jane Larson 1st Vice President Anarene Robinson Secretary Barbara Nath Treasurer Diana Estrada Chaplain Colleen Newman Historian Lori Fruhwirth Sgt-at-Arms Frances Bedel Executive Committee Member Robyn Downs

<u>Standing Committees</u> Alaska Girls State – Lori Fruhwirth Americanism – Jane Larson Auxiliary Emergency Fund – Zona Gregg Distinguished Guests – Penny Mazonna History – Lori Fruhwirth Legislative -- Penny Mazonna Membership – Anarene Robinson National Security – Frances Bedel Past Presidents' Parley—Jane Larson Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 2 of 5

ROLL CALL (continued0

Present

UnitsJack Henry Unit 1Joseph T. Craig Unit 3Seward Unit 5Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6Dorman H Baker Unit 11General Buckner Unit 16George H. Plumley Memorial Unit 20Spenard Unit 28Muldoon Unit 29Peters Creek Unit 33Susitna Valley Unit 35C. Russell Huber Unit 57

Past Department Presidents

Marge Blankenship	Susa
Rehta Foster	Penr
Jane Larson	

Susan Caswell Penny Mazonna Sharon Cherrette Caroline Null

Excused

<u>National Officers</u> Alternate National Executive Committee Member Sue Diaz

Department Officers

2nd Vice President April Sinclair

<u>Standing Committees</u> Audit – Sue Diaz Community Services – Kathy Moore Constitution and Bylaws – Sue Diaz Junior Activities – Nina Ketelsen Veteran's Affairs and Rehabilitation – April Sinclair

Past Department Presidents

Sue Diaz

Sue Waldhaus

Lisa Williamson

Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 3 of 5

ROLL CALL (continued0

Absent

Department Officers Executive Committee Member Sheryl Howe

Standing Committees

Children and Youth – Sheryl Howe Education and Scholarship – Lisa Boyles Finance – Beverly Eads Leadership – Delores Stokes Poppy – Christine Calabrese Public Relations – Beverly Eads

<u>Units</u>

Lynn Canal Unit 12 Sitka Unit 13 Matanuska Valley Unit 15 Robert G. Blair Unit 17 Ninilchik Unit 18 Gladys M. Heintz Unit 27 Con Miller Unit 30 Chappie James Unit 34 Peter Heyano Unit 442

Past Department Presidents

Eva Aulston Betty Bumala Beverly Eads June Haas Evelyn Oliver Barbe Wolkoff

Lynn Bash Jean Clayton Lori FitzSimons Laverne Kearns Jill Pawson Ruth Brown Lavonne Collier Francisca Guilford Debbie Lowndes Jean Shandy

INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

President Jane Larson introduced Western Division National Vice President Toni Gimpel. She is from Idaho. She thanked Alaska for the invitation to come visit our state and encouraged us to continue the great work the Alaska members are doing.

Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 4 of 5

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

MOTION: by Zona Gregg (Unit 6) and seconded by Diana Estrada (Unit 35) to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2022 DEC Meeting.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

COMMUNICATIONS

1st Vice President Anarene Robinson read a letter from Governor Dunleavy congratulating the American Legion Auxiliary, Department of Alaska has reaching 100 years of services.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

There was no Unfinished Business to come before the Department Executive Committee.

NEW BUSINESS

MOTION: by Barbara Nath and seconded by Diana Estrada (35) to approve the rental of space at the American Legion Headquarters Building in Anchorage for a cost of \$200 per year.

Barb pointed out that she had several years of documents from different secretaries throughout the years. She wanted to be able to move items to American Legion Headquarters building. The intent was that the current year and the past year documents are kept with the secretary.

Sharon Cherrette asked about paying for a rental van to move everything into town. Barb indicated that there were several people in the Valley who had trucks which could be used to transport, but thanked Sharon for thinking of that cost.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 5 of 5

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- The joint Opening Ceremony will be at 9:00 a.am. Thursday at Spenard Post 28.
- There will be a Post Everlasting for all family members, and the Military Child's Table Ceremony (conducted by the Junior Auxiliary members).
- Members were reminded to bring scrapbooks, history books and Chaplains' books to the meeting on Thursday.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Department Executive Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 7:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Nath Department Secretary